walk in newness of life

Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.Romans 6:4 (NASB)

 I don’t know about you but there are areas in my life that always seem to haunt me.  They are areas where sin always seems to creep back in and no matter how much I hate it or long to never struggle again I do.  I imagine that any normal believer out there could relate to this. 

A couple of weeks ago I started reading Romans chapter six and never got past the fourth verse. This idea that we can walk in newness of life because of being united with Christ just began to cut to my heart. I had always known this truth but for some reason it hit me again on that particular day. I recognized that I did not have to submit my body to be used for instruments of unrighteousness but rather that I am destined as a child of God to walk in the new life that Christ had provided.

 Friends take this as an encouragement that even though there is an area of your life where you feel like that at times you have no choice but to sin the reality is that you do not have to sin.  As a follower of Christ you are now destined to walk in newness of life.  So step out trust God, plead with Him, take that step in the new life and away from the sin that has deceived you!  You have been given a new life now, you just need to remember that and pray for the Spirit to empower you to step into that life!

 Praise God for the life that He has given His children!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

