Calais

Yesterday afternoon we arrived in Calais, France. We took the Sea France ferry from Dover. You could not walk on the ferry so we took bicycles which made for a bit of a frightening experience. I would not say that the ferry is a cyclist friendly experience. Wait till you see some of the pictures. This picture is from the ferry as we left Dover looking back on the white cliffs.

20110511-082608.jpg

Last night and tonight we are staying in a nice little hotel that is next to a beautiful park. While in France we are spending time walking and praying. The town is quaint and I love seeing the differences between the US and France. One thing I love is that motorcycles are everywhere here. I would fit right in! The strange thing is the language barrier.

Last night Steve and I ate at a restaurant and the waitress spoke no English. Steve is Better at saying their words so I did a lot of pointing and hoping that she understood. The meal was great and took quite a while with the multiple courses. I guess it was about 10:30 pm when we finally left dinner to walk back to the hotel.

Steve and I have had a blast talking about ministry. I have been challenged to think deeply about life, groups, ministry and church. I am already so thankful for this experience and what i am learning! This afternoon we are doing some reading, journaling and praying.

Thanks for all your prayers! So far I have really enjoyed and France and love listening to the French speak!

Leave a comment

Filed under England

Leave a Reply

